Time to say goodbye

The list of players being released this summer has been named by Nathan Jones today and it contains four members of the Conference title winning squad. Alex Lawless, Jake Howells, Paul Benson and Scott Griffiths are among a list of nine players who will be leaving the club.

Howells made his debut in 2008. He went on to amass 334 first team appearances with his last coming in the 4-1 win over Exeter on Saturday. He scored 30 goals in his time with the club.

Lawless joined the Town from York in 2010 and spent six seasons in the orange colours. He played 203 times and scored 22 goals, many of them outstanding goals including the winner against Wolves to set up that famous FA Cup fourth round clash at Norwich.

Benson and Griffiths were both signings of John Still in 2013 and like Howells and Lawless went on to play valuable roles in getting the club out of non-league and establishing us back as a Football League club. Benson made 84 appearances for the club and scored 25 goals while Griffiths played 132 games, scoring three goals.

The Luton Town Supporters’ Trust committee would like to place on record our sincere thanks and gratitude for the part all four men played in getting the club out of the Conference and for their overall service to LTFC.

It has also been announced that Isaac Galliford, Curtley Williams, Ryan Hall, Mark Onyemah and Luke Trotman will all be released when their contracts end. We would like to thank all five for their contributions in their time at Kenilworth Road.

We wish all nine men the very best of luck in their future careers.

Speak Your Mind


Visit Us On TwitterVisit Us On FacebookVisit Us On YoutubeVisit Us On Instagram